Studying The Craft: The Devil Wears Prada

Image

I just finished The Devil Wears Prada yesterday and I enjoyed this book just as much as I enjoyed the movie, which happens to be one of my favorites. While reading this book I studied the craft of writing. I believe that writers should always study the craft and that there is always something to learn. By reading, writers are continually gaining useful information and learning new techniques.

I decided to divide what I was looking for into two categories. Using post-it tabs I went about pointing out specific things. The  green tabs are good examples of  details/descriptions and the purple tabs are  good examples of dialogue. Lauren Weisberger did a great job of demonstrating both of these techniques. She has a clever way of introducing dialogue so that the material will be fresh and interesting to readers.

I’m sure that over time Weisberger developed her writing voice and writing style,  but it didn’t come right away. It came with hard work and by her studying the craft of writing.

Image

This is a great example of how Weisberger makes dialogue interesting. Elaboration is added between the responses, bringing the conversation between Andy and Christian to life. Andy’s reaction to meeting Christian is  also described. She is awed by being in his presence and knows his writing history.

Image

This whole page is a great example of details and description. Here Weisberger describes how Andy dresses in comparison to the employees at Runway. She also describes her decision to start dressing better at Runway.

I can’t wait to read the sequel Revenge Wears Prada and see how Weisberger has grown as a writer.

Happy Reading and Writing,

Chineka

Leave a Reply

