NaNoWriMo : The Writing Marathon

woman-running-at-sunsetbeach-runner

National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) is a writing event during the month of November that starts on November 1. All over the world writers make a goal to write a 50,000 word novel by 11:59 pm on November 30.

In some ways it is like running a marathon for writers. A certain amount of words should be written every day to meet the 50,000 word goal.

Some ways to get to your goal while being supported by other writers is to join a writing club locally or online. A great writing club on twitter is through the group Friday Night Writes , which does word sprints using the hashtag #writeclub.

This year for NaNoWriMo the club is doing word sprints for 48 hours. There will be prizes for those that participate.

This is my first year participating in NaNoWriMo, although I am not going the traditional route. My goal is to reach 20,000 plus words, which is  needed to complete Love Illusion, my current work in progress.

I am looking forward to supporting my fellow writers and learning more about myself through writing. I’ll be posting updates throughout NaNoWriMo on my progress.

Will you be participating in NaNoWriMo? If so what is your goal?

Happy Reading and Writing,

Chineka

Leave a Reply

